Conroe, TX > Austin

We spent the work week at Willis RV Park on Lake Conroe. We left New Orleans early last week due to flash flood and heavy rain warnings, and when we arrived here 6 hours later, it was dark and absolutely pouring rain out.

Normally we show up when it’s light, and I’ll hop out and help direct. That would have been pointless in the dark and noisy rain. After a few back in attempts, Travis placed the RV properly. We plugged in just the electric and water (not before I ran in to grab my rain boots and rain jacket), put out slide outs, brought in the cat and our stuff and left the leveling, sewer, and all rest for the next morning.

IMG_1644

This guy was in the field next door!

Lake Conroe seems like an nice little fishing lake – but we’re not in a lake front spot. We’re on the side of what seems like mostly a full-timer and storage lot. It’s not terrible but I don’t love it and probably wouldn’t tell someone to come stay here – there’s just nothing to do unless you drive 20 minutes away and the natural beauty (what I was banking on) isn’t really noticeable if you’re not on the lake. I’ve left the RV for probably a grand total of 5 hours the whole week…once to go for a run and twice to run errands to Walmart.

DCIM103GOPROGOPR4594.JPG

Our lake front campground – only we weren’t on the lake, d’oh!

Friday morning we lit out for Austin, Texas. We’re staying at Sunset RV Resort in the Hill Country. What a great spot! We had lots of morning and afternoon sunshine in the RV, which actually happens less than you’d think.

IMG_1657

Our site at Sunset RV Resort near Bee Cave.

After work we went to Chuy’s for Mexican food. I wasn’t bowled over, but it was relatively close and they had green chile so I was happy. 😀

Saturday we started the day off at the Barton Springs Greenbelt near the Gaines Creek entrance. The creek bed was dry until a bit farther up the path. It was cool out, in the low 40s but that bright Texas sun was shining and it warmed up enough to shed the outer layers. It’s amazing that there’s so much outdoor/green space so close to the city and I can see why it’s so popular. The chilly weather didn’t seem to phase anyone because the parking lot was nearly full when we rolled in shortly after 11.

DCIM103GOPROGOPR4608.JPG

Barton Springs Greenbelt.

After our easy hike, we went into downtown so that I could get my hair cut at Wild Orchid Salon. I had a trim early in December, and even after showing him a photo of myself in the haircut that I had and wanted cleaned up, I left with no texture and a straight, clean blowout. Boo. On the advice of the stylist who fixed me up the first time, I dutifully stalked Instagram feeds until I found a few stylists who clearly nailed the hair game I was playing and managed to book a Saturday mid-day appointment 3 days ahead of time. Score! Thank you, Karlee Brown.

Then we walked up and down Congress Street, hustling alongside the late afternoon brunch set. Congress Street has a bunch of fun, funky little shops, food trucks, and on Saturday there were tons of outdoor artists set up in tents in various lots and stretches of sidewalks. I loved being able to get a feel for the artistic community that clearly inhabits the city – and I’m sure that was just the tip of the iceberg.

IMG_1668

Spotted inside a Congress Street shop.

Post-Congress street stroll, we drove downtown (Austin is definitely a driving city, btw – there is public transit but it’s not like Boston where you can just walk everywhere or NYC where you can hop on the subway) to meet my friend Mohana who’s lived in Austin for about 5 years. We hit Mount Bonnell for sunset, then went to dinner at Mother’s Cafe where her BF Tim joined us. En route to Halcyon afterward for S’mores, we walked past Ginger Man (there’s a Ginger Man in Austin! I hadn’t realized they expanded beyond NYC because I’m a moron) and I proceeded to get really excited so we popped in for some beers.

IMG_1674

Mount Bonnell with Mohana, yasss!

I was super excited to get to try some sours from Blue Owl, I loved the Spirit Animal sour pale ale. Professor Black, a sour cherry stout, was also great but a bit too sweet for me.

Sunday we hiked to Hamilton Pool and along the Pedernales River. Hamilton Pool itself is a collapsed grotto with a karst layer over a less permeable shale layer that’s creek-fed and like a massive echo chamber. I can only imagine how amazing it would be to swim in it in the summertime. The walk along the creek and to the Pedernales was also beautiful – the water is extremely clear and blue. You can see every little plant and detail in the shallow stream beds.

DCIM103GOPROGOPR4651.JPG

Hamilton Pool.

DCIM103GOPROGOPR4673.JPG

The crystal clear creek water.

Post-hike we drove to Jester King, one of my favorite Texas breweries. I highly recommend a stop here to all my beer nerd pals if you’re in the area – they have an outstanding outdoor seating area with tons of picnic tables, a pit fire, cornhole, cafe lights, and both an in- and outdoor bar area that serves different things.

DCIM103GOPROGOPR4680.JPG

Jester King: We’ll have one of everything, pls.

Stanley’s Firehouse Pizza is in the building just below, fortunately we ordered a couple of pies before they just straight up sold out of pizza at around 4pm. So pro tip: get there on the early side.

IMG_1706

And, since Austin is expecting an inch or so of snow Monday night, we packed up early (again) and hit the road for Fort Davis, Texas.

 

 

Leave a comment